Chicken Noodle Soup

Today in South Dakota it has been one of the first very cold and windy days! As I was sitting in a continuing education class for work all I could think about was, hot Chicken Noodle Soup! (Oops, sorry to my instructor πŸ˜‰ )

By the way if you think I’m talking about Campbell’s Chicken Noodle Soup…I’m most certainly not!

One of the first meals my Mom taught me to cook when I moved into my first college apartment was Chicken Noodle Soup. She always would say, “Allie, cooking is so simple”! In the recipe I list below have some fresh ingredients and some “canned” but please enjoy it and stay warm!!

RECIPE:

Ingredients:
4 cups Swanson Chicken Broth (I used Low Sodium Chicken Broth)
Generous dash ground black pepper
1 medium carrot, sliced (about 1/2 cup)
1 stalk celery, sliced (about 1/2 cup)
1/2 cup uncooked extra wide egg noodles
1 cup shredded cooked chicken or turkey (I diced my chicken)

Directions:
1. Heat the broth, black pepper, carrot and celery in a 2-quart saucepan over medium-high heat to a boil.
2. Stir the noodles and chicken in the saucepan. Reduce the heat to medium. Cook for 10 minutes or until the noodles are tender, stirring occasionally.

 

PS. If you want to make it easier on yourself, go buy the carton of Swanson Chicken Broth and there’s the recipe! πŸ™‚ …See, my Mom was right, “so simple”!

Leave a Reply

